Emeritus Professor John Braithwaite receives awards from ComplianceNet and ECPR

27th July 2021

RegNet is delighted to announce that Emeritus Professor John Braithwaite has been awarded the ComplianceNet Lifetime Achievement Award and the Regulatory Studies Development Award by the European Consortium for Political Research (ECPR) Standing Group on Regulatory Governance.

Speaking at the Keynote Lecture and Awards Ceremony at the 2021 ComplianceNet conference, John, who received the Lifetime Achievement Award for contributions to understanding regulatory compliance, thanked the organising committee, the intellectual communities, his family and colleagues at ANU and other Universities where he worked for the recognition.

“I would like to thank my ANU colleagues and students during the past 38 years for so much support and stimulus, my family for putting up with me for so long, and especially Val for her inspiration and putting up with me on both the family front and the RegNet front at ANU.

“Most of what we accomplish at nodes of regulatory scholarship like RegNet are accomplishments of a team rather than of individuals and I do think there are plenty of people more deserving than me for these awards.”

John, who founded RegNet (the Regulatory Institutions Network), now School of Regulation and Global Governance (RegNet) at the ANU with Valerie Braithwaite, also received the Award for Regulatory Studies Development 2021, presented to him virtually at the 8th Biennial Regulatory Governance Conference in Exeter. His nomination read:

‘In addition to his path breaking and highly influential scholarshi,p John has been a leader in building the field of regulatory governance, establishing the Regulatory Institutions Network at ANU, supervising and mentoring countless students and researchers, both formally and informally, building engagement between his research and numerous practice fields and as a founding co-editor of Regulation & Governance.’ View the full citation here.

Read more on John’s research and publications on his personal website.

Updated:  10 August 2017/Responsible Officer:  Director, RegNet/Page Contact:  Director, RegNet