Visiting PhD Scholar Program

Visiting PhD Scholars

As well as providing continuing support for three PhD scholars who are based at the Centre for International Governance and Justice (CIGJ), the Laureate Fellowship supports a scholarship program allowing talented Australian and international PhD scholars who are working in the field of human rights to visit the CIGJ for periods of between six to eight weeks. The program encourages visiting PhD scholars to participate actively in the Centre’s research life, and to learn about and engage with research being undertaken towards ‘Strengthening the International Human Rights System’.

The PhD visitors who have spent time at the Centre to date have greatly enriched our community of scholars and have forged lasting ties with our members. During their stay, each visiting PhD scholar has presented a research seminar, and nearly all have contributed to the project’s blog, Regarding Rights.

2015 Visiting Scholars

Previous Visiting PhD Scholars


  • Ms Jackie Hartley, University of New South Wales
  • Mr Jonathan Kent, University of Toronto
  • Ms Betheli O’Carroll, University of Queensland
  • Mr Mikko Rajavuori, University of Turku
  • Ms Yvette Selim, University of New South Wales
  • Ms Ciara O’Connell, University of Sussex
  • Ms Mariana Assis, The New School for Social Research
  • Mr Nathan Willis, Southern Cross University


  • Ms Paola Forgione, University of Pavia
  • Ms Rosemary Gray, University of New South Wales
  • Mr Jonathan Kolieb, University of Melbourne
  • Ms Anita Mackay, Monash University
  • Ms Ana Maria Vargas Falla, Lund University and University of Milan
  • Ms Summer Wood, New York University


  • Ms Rumyana Grozdanova, Durham University
  • Ms Catherine Renshaw, University of New South Wales
  • Ms Mimi Zou, Oxford University

Updated:  10 August 2017/Responsible Officer:  Director, RegNet/Page Contact:  Director, RegNet