Canberra Conference on Earth System Governance

15th September 2015

More information

Kyla Tienhaara

Dr. Kyla Tienhaara is a research fellow in the School of Regulation and Global Governance (RegNet) and co-director of the Climate and Environmental Governance Network (CEGNet), Australian National University.

You might also like

The draft program for the Canberra Conference on Earth System Governance is now available on the conference website.

About the conference

This is the 6th conference in an international series on earth system governance. Previous conferences have been held in Amsterdam (2009), Fort Collins (2011), Lund (2012), Tokyo (2013) and Norwich (2014).

The Canberra Conference will bring 250-300 leading researchers, early career scholars and policy experts from around the world to the Australian National University to engage in discussions on critical issues in social science governance research on the environment and sustainable development.

‘Democracy and Resilience in the Anthropocene’ is the Conference’s overarching theme in 2015. Resilience and the Anthropocene are increasingly prominent in contemporary narratives of global environmental change, with important implications for how we think about governance. Can democratic politics at the local, national and global level rise to the challenges that these concepts present? Are the types of governance they appear to promote desirable? What are the consequences of non-democratic politics or polities for resilience, and for transitions and transformations towards more sustainable futures? The Canberra Conference on Earth System Governance will be a lively forum for hundreds of scientists to examine, explore and challenge some of the core ideas underlying earth system governance.


Early-Bird Registration closes 16 October and to ensure inclusion in the program you must register before 16 November. Registration will remain open after this date (through until the conference) but paper presenters must register before 16 November to keep their spot in the program. Go to the conference website to register.

Conference chairs:

Kyla Tienhaara (Regulatory Institutions Network, ANU)

John Dryzek (University of Canberra)

Loraae Van Kerkhoff (Fenner School of Environment and Society, ANU)

Tags: conferences

Updated:  10 August 2017/Responsible Officer:  Director, RegNet/Page Contact:  Director, RegNet